hippo jacket

i’d like to thank Ikea for using some really kick-ass fabric to make their affordable children’s bedding, which i can then purchase and turn into something new!

IMG_2815

yup, this jacket was once a kid-sized duvet cover/sheet set. i put it together using the My Favorite Jacket pattern.

IMG_2817

of course, i made a few changes to the pattern. instead of being an unlined jacket, it’s fully lined, and i opted for buttons instead of snaps. i couldn’t decide which buttons to use, so yeah, snaps it is.

IMG_2816

i would’ve posted it last weekend, but after i worked on it all day saturday (almost to the point of being finished), i came down with the flu, which turned into bronchitis. go, me! i finally got back to the sewing machine today, and crossed one more project off my list.

14 thoughts on “hippo jacket

  1. What a fantastic idea! I picked up a duvet recently from Ikea to use in a sewing project, but I didn’t check the kids section. I’m heading back in a day or two and will definitely see what they have in the kids section.

    Oh, and I love the jacket. It looks great.

  2. oh this is awesome! i’ve been itching to go to ikea precisely for their kids bedding to repurpose. oh how i wish my brain could wrap itself around a pattern. LOVE the jacket!

  3. WOW!!! I have this fabric at home as I loved it at first sight! thank you for posting pictures… just wondering where do you online to buy the cindy taylor oates patterns? I live in cyprus and would need to purchase online…
    many thanks for your help

    best wishes for the new year

  4. Pingback: simplicity + ikea = BFF | life with monkey

Comments are closed.